We've detected that you may be experiencing poor broadband performance.

Emails automatically being sent to trash

If you're finding that your incoming emails are being placed in your webmail Trash or Deleted folder unexpectedly instead of your inbox, please follow the steps below to stop this from happening.

If you use an email client to access your email, we have provided an explanation for why this may be happening in the “I access emails using an email client” section below.

I only access email using a web browser

If you only access your emails through your web browser (i.e. you do not use an email client such as Outlook), change your password to something different from your previous one then sign in to Sky Yahoo Mail to check that your access is working.

Send some test emails to yourself and check that these do not go to your trash folder. Previous emails in the trash folder will remain there until you move them, but any new emails should arrive into your Inbox correctly.

If this doesn't solve your problem, check that you do not have any third party mailbox (e.g. Hotmail, Gmail etc.) set up to access your emails. If so, this will be using POP to fetch those emails, and unless the settings to keep emails on the server is set, emails would be sent to trash in your Sky Yahoo Mail account once they have been fetched.

  • You should sign in to your other mailbox and check your mail fetching settings. If there is an option to leave messages on the server once they have been fetched, ensure this is enabled. If not, you can delete the mail fetching option and instead set up mail forwarding from your Sky Yahoo Mail account.

You should also check you do not have any filters set up by clicking the gear icon in the upper-right corner of the window, followed by Mail Options.

  • Select Filters and check there are no filters that may cause messages to be sent to the Trash folder. You can find more information on filters by reading our Using filters in your inbox article.

I access emails using an email client

Email clients such as Outlook have settings that decide what happens to your email after it has been downloaded from the server. It can be set to either:

  • Keep a copy of the email on the server, so you can still access it when signing into Sky Yahoo Mail through a web browser.

  • Delete the email from the server after it has been downloaded, which will move it to the trash folder on the server. This is the default setting for clients using POP, and will need to be changed if you don't want your emails to appear in your trash folder.

Even if you have not changed these settings since the Sky Yahoo Mail switchover, you should still check your settings on your email client to ensure you have not selected the option to delete emails from the server once they have been downloaded.

On the previous version of Sky Email provided by Google, it was possible to control these settings through webmail, and these settings would remain in place when using your mail client. On Sky Yahoo Mail, these settings cannot be changed through webmail, so any changes need to be made through your email client.

Select your email client from the options below for instructions on how to resolve this.

If you're using Outlook and aren't sure which version you have, open your Windows Start menu and select All Programs. Click on Microsoft Office and you will see your version of Outlook listed underneath.

  • 2003

    1. Select the Tools menu, then E-mail Accounts.
    2. Choose View or change existing e-mail accounts, then click Next.
    3. Select your account and click Change.
    4. Click More Settings.
    5. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    6. Select OK to save your settings.
  • 2010 & 2013

    1. Select the File tab, then click Account Settings.
    2. Select your account and click Change.
    3. Click More Settings.
    4. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    5. Select OK to save your settings.
  • Express

    1. Select the Tools menu, then Accounts.
    2. Select your account and click Properties.
    3. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    4. Select OK to save your settings.
  • Live Mail

    1. Select Options from the main menu, then Email accounts.
    2. Select your account and click Properties.
    3. Under the Delivery section of the Advanced tab, make sure that "Leave a copy of messages on the server", is checked.
    4. Select OK then Close to save your settings.
  • Apple Mail

    1. Using the menu bar at the top of the screen, click Mail, then Preferences.
    2. The preferences window will appear. Choose the Account Information screen.
    3. Select the Advanced tab.
    4. Uncheck Remove copy from server after retrieving message.
    5. Close the Preferences window. When the Save Changes dialog pops up choose Save.

Once your emails have been downloaded by your email client, they will appear in your inbox on webmail.